Women laureates

Only 17 women have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize – compared to 90 men.

By 1970, the Nobel Peace Prize had almost exclusively been the preserve of highly educated white men from Europe and the United States. Until then, only three women had won the peace prize: Austrian Bertha von Suttner in 1905 and the two Americans Jane Addams (1931) and Emily Greene Balch (1946). 

During the 1970s, three women were awarded the Nobel Peace Prize: Betty Williams and Mairead Corrigan shared the peace prize in 1976, and Mother Teresa was awarded the prize in 1979. Since 1990, nine women have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prizes.

List of Nobel Peace Prize awarded women:


Nadia Murad (2018)

Malala Yousafzai (2014)

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (2011)

Leymah Gbowee (2011)

Tawakkol Karman (2011)

Wangari Muta Maathai (2004)

Shirin Ebadi (2003)

Jody Williams (1997)

Rigoberta Menchú Tum (1992)

Aung San Suu Kyi (1991)

Alva Myrdal (1982)

Mor Teresa (1979)

Betty Williams (1976)

Mairead Corrigan (1976)

Emily Greene Balch (1946)

Jane Addams (1931)

Bertha von Suttner (1905)